Archive | May 5, 2008

Logitech Harmony One

I JUST got a Logitech Harmony One remote (which I have been VERY excited about). I downloaded the latest mac version and had issues with the USB connecting to the Mac (10.5.x). I tested a couple of things and read the support docs. NOTHING.

I finally downloaded and ran it in Parallels. It worked just fine. I collected the data (model numbers for each device) and then ran the system updates. Setup took about 15 minutes (maybe a little less if it had it all working on the mac side of the house) and at the end of the process I did have to do some tweaking – BUT the system was VERY intuitive in working through the troubleshooting.

So far the system is working very well and I have been really happy with it. The best part of it will be telling my parents – you want to watch TV, press “Watch TV”, “Watch TiVo”, and “Watch DVD”. Easy. It turns on the devices and changes the system to the proper channel etc. Rock On!

Questions, let me know…