kurt vonnegut 1922-2007

kurt vonnegut, author and social commentator, died yesterday (april 11). what i find most interesting about vonnegut is that i had the chance to hear him speak at commencement from syracuse in 1994 (almost 13 years ago). that kept his name in the back of my mind and when he released a new book (“timequake“) which he said was his last novel.

of course he wrote slaughter house five and cat’s cradle – which i imaging my boys will be referencing when they get older (oh, in about 15 years). he always had a statement to make and most of all was unafraid to say it.

one of the comments i remember from the speech was “I thank you for being educated. There, I’ve thanked you now; that way I don’t have to speak to a bunch of nincompoops.” it makes me smile and i really know he meant it!

another except i recall and i think is interesting (in light of the al gore “inconvenient truth”) is the following statement about the current state of the world. “I apologize because of the terrible mess the planet is in. But it has always been a mess. There have never been any ”Good Old Days,” there have just been days. And as I say to my grandchildren, ”Don’t look at me. I just got here myself.”

i hope this give you a taste of the kurt vonnegut and for those that have not been touched by writing would at least give a quick read to the commencement speech (or one of the others from another institution).

So it goes.

Leave a Reply

